Flag of India

India Flag

Country Information

Sovereign StateYes
Country CodesIN, IND
Official NameRepublic of India
CapitalNew Delhi
Government TypeFederal Parliamentary Democratic Republic
CurrencyIndian Rupee (INR)
Calling Code+91
Member OfUnited Nations, World Trade Organization, G20, BRICS, Commonwealth of Nations
PopulationOver 1.3 billion (as of 2023)
Total AreaApproximately 3,287,263 square kilometers
Highest PointKangchenjunga (8,586 meters or 28,169 feet)
Lowest PointIndian Ocean (0 meters or 0 feet)
GDP Per CapitaAbout $2,100 USD
Life ExpectancyAround 69 years
Internet TLD.in

Indian National Anthem

Jana Gana Mana

Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people,
Dispenser of India’s destiny.
Thy name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sindhu, Gujarat, and Maratha,
Of the Dravida and Odisha and Bengal;
It echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas,
Mingles in the music of Jamuna and Ganges and is chanted by
The waves of the Indian Sea.
They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise.
The saving of all people waits in thy hand,
Thou dispenser of India’s destiny.
Victory, victory, victory to thee.

Flags of Neighboring Countries

History of the Indian Flag

The flag of India, commonly referred to as the Tiranga or ‘Tricolor’, was officially adopted on July 22, 1947, just before India gained independence from British rule. The flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya and represents India’s struggle for freedom, its diverse culture, and its rich heritage.

The flag consists of three horizontal stripes of different colors. The top stripe is saffron, representing courage and sacrifice. The middle white stripe signifies peace and truth, and features a navy blue 24-spoke Ashoka Chakra, an emblem of the eternal wheel of law. The lower stripe is green, symbolizing faith, fertility, and the land.

The Ashoka Chakra in the center of the flag is a significant symbol taken from the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka. It represents the righteousness, progress, and perpetuity. The 24 spokes of the wheel denote the 24 hours of the day and imply the constant movement of time and the nation’s path of progress.

The Indian flag has undergone several changes throughout its history, evolving from the Calcutta Flag, which was first hoisted in 1906, to its present form. The current flag was officially adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on July 22, 1947, just a few weeks before India’s independence on August 15, 1947. The flag symbolizes India’s secular nature and its commitment to world peace. It is not just a national emblem but also a reminder of the country’s struggle for independence, unity in diversity, and the various cultural, historical, and philosophical aspects of India’s heritage.