Flag of the Pacific Alliance

Pacific Alliance
  • Acronym: PA
  • Type: Regional Trade Bloc and Intergovernmental Organization
  • Membership: 4 member states, 59 observer states
  • Establishment: Established on 28 April 2011
  • Official Language(s): Spanish
  • Headquarters: No permanent headquarters; the presidency rotates annually among member countries

The Pacific Alliance is an economic and developmental coalition of four highly integrated member countries in Latin America, namely Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru. The alliance’s primary goal is to form a regional integration platform to project these nations globally and insert them into the Asia-Pacific economy.

Pacific Alliance History

The Pacific Alliance was formed on 28 April 2011 by the Lima Declaration, a founding agreement made by Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru. The establishment of the Pacific Alliance was a strategic move to improve the member countries’ competitiveness and economic growth by creating an area of deep integration and moving progressively toward the free circulation of goods, services, capital, and people.

Pacific Alliance Structure

The Pacific Alliance operates with a structure that includes:

  • The Council of Presidents: The supreme decision-making body composed of the heads of state of the member countries.
  • The Council of Ministers: Composed of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and Trade of the member countries, responsible for implementing the decisions of the Council of Presidents.
  • The High-Level Group: Comprised of vice-ministers or national officials, responsible for technical and political coordination.
  • Technical Groups and Committees: Focused on specific areas such as trade, visa facilitation, and economic cooperation.

Pacific Alliance Membership

The Pacific Alliance is a dynamic and open regional integration mechanism that includes four founding member countries and a broad network of observer states that support and engage in the Alliance’s activities.

Pacific Alliance Objectives

Promoting Regional Integration

The Alliance focuses on fostering deeper integration among its member countries to create an area of economic and social development.

Enhancing Global Trade Relations

The Alliance aims to strengthen economic ties with the Asia-Pacific region and beyond, promoting joint negotiation strategies to open new markets.

Free Movement of Goods, Services, Capital, and People

One of the key objectives is to ensure the free movement of goods, services, capital, and people among member countries, stimulating economic growth and development.

Pacific Alliance Funding

The Pacific Alliance’s operations and initiatives are funded by contributions from its member states and supported by various cooperation agreements with its observer states and other international partners.

Pacific Alliance Projects

Trade Facilitation and Economic Integration

The Alliance actively works on reducing tariff barriers and other obstacles to trade, promoting economic integration and a free trade area among its members.

Mobility and Visa Facilitation

Initiatives to facilitate the movement of people for business, tourism, and education, including visa waiver agreements and cooperation on educational exchange programs.

Pacific Alliance Members

Member States

  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Mexico
  • Peru

Observer States

The Pacific Alliance has 59 observer states that participate in various activities and support the objectives of the Alliance.

The Pacific Alliance stands as a prominent example of regional integration, with a clear focus on creating synergies among its members to enhance their economic and social development. Through its strategic initiatives and collaborative projects, the Alliance not only strengthens the bonds among its member countries but also positions them competitively in the global economy, particularly in the Asia-Pacific region.

Share This Post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *