What countries use Catalan as their primary language?

What countries use Catalan as their primary language?

Catalan is a widely spoken language primarily used in three countries: Spain, Andorra, and Italy. It is the official language of Catalonia, a region in northeastern Spain, and also holds co-official status in the Balearic Islands, Valencia, and the eastern region of Aragon. In Andorra, Catalan is the only official language, while in the Italian city of Alghero, it is spoken as a minority language. This article aims to provide a comprehensive overview of the countries where Catalan is predominantly spoken, highlighting its cultural significance and linguistic variations within each region.

Countries where Catalan is the official language


Andorra is one of the countries where Catalan is recognized as the official language. Located in the eastern Pyrenees mountains between Spain and France, Catalan is not only the official language but also the most widely spoken language in the principality. With a population of around 80,000 people, Andorra holds Catalan in high regard and promotes its usage in all aspects of daily life, including education, government, and media.


Spain is another country where Catalan holds the status of an official language. Although Spanish is the primary language spoken in most regions of Spain, Catalan is officially recognized and has co-official status in Catalonia, the Balearic Islands, and Valencia. In Catalonia, which includes the vibrant city of Barcelona, Catalan is widely spoken and used in schools, government institutions, and cultural events. The Balearic Islands, including popular tourist destinations such as Mallorca and Ibiza, also embrace Catalan as an essential part of their cultural identity. Additionally, in the Valencian Community, the variety of Catalan spoken is known as Valencian and is widely used alongside Spanish.

These two countries, Andorra and Spain, exemplify the significance of Catalan as a primary language in their respective regions. The recognition and official status of Catalan in these countries contribute to the preservation and promotion of this unique language and its rich cultural heritage.

Countries where Catalan is recognized or has regional status


Catalan is recognized as a regional language in the northeastern region of France, specifically in the department of Pyrénées-Orientales. This area, also known as Northern Catalonia, has a significant Catalan-speaking population. The French government has acknowledged the importance of preserving and promoting Catalan culture and language in this region.


In Italy, the region of Sardinia recognizes Catalan as one of its traditional languages. The Alghero area, located on the western coast of Sardinia, has a historical Catalan-speaking community. The language has been preserved in this region and is still spoken by a portion of the population. Catalan is also taught in some schools in Alghero to support its continued use and heritage.


Catalan is one of the official languages of Spain, primarily spoken in the autonomous communities of Catalonia, Valencia, and the Balearic Islands. In Catalonia, Catalan holds the highest status as the primary language of the region. It is used in education, government, media, and daily conversations. Valencia also recognizes Catalan as an official language alongside Spanish, and it is widely spoken and taught in schools. In the Balearic Islands, Catalan is the co-official language and has a strong presence in the local culture and society.

These countries acknowledge the importance of Catalan and have taken steps to support its usage and preservation in their respective regions.

In conclusion, while Catalan is primarily spoken in the Catalonia region of Spain, it is also recognized as an official language in Andorra and the Balearic Islands. Despite efforts to promote the use of Catalan, it remains a minority language in these regions. However, with ongoing discussions and initiatives to preserve and strengthen the language, Catalan continues to play a significant role in the cultural identity of these countries.

Share This Post: