What country is Iguazu Falls in?

The Iguazu Falls, one of the world’s most breathtaking natural wonders, is located at the border of Argentina and Brazil. With its awe-inspiring beauty and impressive scale, it has become a popular tourist destination for nature enthusiasts and adventure seekers alike. In this article, we will explore the enchanting Iguazu Falls and delve into the fascinating history and geographical significance of this spectacular attraction. Whether you’re planning a trip or simply curious to learn more, this guide will provide you with all the essential information about the country where Iguazu Falls can be found.


Iguazu Falls is one of the most breathtaking natural wonders in the world. Located in South America, this magnificent waterfall system attracts visitors from all over the globe. In this article, we will explore the country in which Iguazu Falls is situated and delve into the unique features and attractions of this mesmerizing destination. So, let’s embark on a journey to discover the country that is home to the awe-inspiring Iguazu Falls.

Location of Iguazu Falls

Geographical Position

Iguazu Falls is located in South America, specifically on the border between Argentina and Brazil. The falls are situated within the Iguazu National Park, which spans both countries.

The geographical coordinates of Iguazu Falls are approximately 25.6953° S latitude and 54.4378° W longitude. This incredible natural wonder is nestled within the lush rainforests of the region, adding to its breathtaking beauty.

Bordering Countries

Iguazu Falls is unique as it straddles the border between two countries, Argentina and Brazil. The falls are formed by the Iguazu River, which serves as a natural boundary between the two nations.

On the Argentine side, the falls are primarily located within the Misiones Province, while on the Brazilian side, they can be found in the state of Paraná. Both countries take great pride in their shared ownership of this extraordinary attraction.

Visitors to Iguazu Falls have the opportunity to experience the falls from different perspectives, as there are various viewpoints accessible from both Argentina and Brazil. The diverse cultural influences and stunning natural surroundings make Iguazu Falls a truly remarkable destination for tourists from around the world.

Country of Iguazu Falls


Iguazu Falls is located on the border between Argentina and Brazil. The majority of the falls, approximately 80%, are within Argentina’s territory. The falls are part of the Iguazu National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Argentina offers various viewpoints and trails that allow visitors to explore the falls from different angles. The most famous attraction within the Argentine side is the Devil’s Throat, a massive U-shaped waterfall that creates a breathtaking spectacle.


A significant portion of Iguazu Falls also lies within Brazil. Approximately 20% of the falls are located on the Brazilian side, within the Iguaçu National Park. The Brazilian side provides a different perspective of the falls, offering panoramic views and walkways that allow visitors to get up close to the cascades. The highlight of the Brazilian side is the Devil’s Throat, which can be admired from a suspended walkway, providing an awe-inspiring experience.


Although the majority of Iguazu Falls is shared between Argentina and Brazil, a small portion extends into Paraguay. However, the Paraguayan side does not offer direct access to the falls and is mainly accessible by boat tours along the Parana River. While it may not provide the same extensive views as the Argentine and Brazilian sides, the Paraguayan perspective offers a unique vantage point to witness the falls from a different angle.

Overall, Iguazu Falls is a natural wonder that spans across three countries: Argentina, Brazil, and Paraguay. Each country provides a distinct experience and viewpoint of the falls, making it a must-visit destination for nature enthusiasts and adventure seekers alike.

The conclusion of the article "What country is Iguazu Falls in?" is that the Iguazu Falls is located in both Argentina and Brazil. This natural wonder is situated on the border of the two countries, with approximately 80% of the falls falling within Argentina’s territory and the remaining 20% within Brazil’s. The article explores the geographical features, significance, and surrounding attractions of the Iguazu Falls, providing readers with a comprehensive understanding of its location and the unique experiences it offers in both Argentina and Brazil.

Share This Post: