Which countries use Latvian as their official language?

According to recent data, this article aims to shed light on the countries that officially use Latvian as their primary language. With a focus on linguistic diversity and cultural significance, we explore the various nations where Latvian holds an official status. Whether you are a language enthusiast, a traveler, or simply curious about the global reach of Latvian, this article provides valuable insights and information to satisfy your curiosity. Join us as we delve into the rich tapestry of countries where Latvian serves as an official language.


Latvian is the official language of Latvia, a country located in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. This Finno-Ugric language is spoken by approximately 1.5 million people worldwide. While Latvian is primarily spoken in Latvia, there are also other countries where it holds official status or is widely spoken as a minority language. In this article, we will explore the countries that use Latvian as their official language and delve into the significance of the language in these regions.

Countries where Latvian is the official language


Latvia is the primary country where Latvian is the official language. Situated in the Baltic region of Northern Europe, Latvia has a population of approximately 1.9 million people. Latvian is not only the official language but also the national language of Latvia. It holds a significant cultural and historical importance for the Latvian people.

Latvian communities in other countries

Apart from Latvia, Latvian is also recognized as an official language in a few other countries. These countries have Latvian-speaking communities that have maintained their language and culture while residing abroad. Some of the countries with Latvian communities where the language is recognized as official include:

  1. United States: The United States is home to a considerable Latvian diaspora, particularly in cities like New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles. Latvian is recognized as an official language in certain Latvian cultural centers and organizations within the country.

  2. United Kingdom: In the United Kingdom, there are Latvian communities scattered across various cities, including London, Birmingham, and Manchester. Latvian is acknowledged as an official language within Latvian community centers and associations.

  3. Canada: Canada also has Latvian communities spread throughout the country, with significant populations in cities like Toronto, Vancouver, and Montreal. Latvian is recognized as an official language in certain Latvian cultural institutions and events.

  4. Australia: Latvian communities can be found in Australia, particularly in cities such as Melbourne, Sydney, and Adelaide. Within these communities, Latvian is considered an official language for cultural and social events.

  5. Germany: Germany is home to a notable Latvian community, mainly concentrated in cities like Berlin, Munich, and Hamburg. Latvian is recognized as an official language within Latvian cultural organizations and associations.

These countries, along with Latvia, play a crucial role in preserving and promoting the Latvian language, allowing Latvian communities to maintain their linguistic and cultural heritage even when residing abroad.

Countries with significant Latvian-speaking populations

United States

The United States is home to a considerable number of Latvian speakers. Latvian is spoken by the Latvian American community, which is primarily concentrated in cities such as New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles. These cities have vibrant Latvian cultural centers, schools, and organizations that aim to promote and preserve the Latvian language and heritage. Additionally, there are numerous Latvian language classes and events held throughout the country, providing opportunities for Latvian speakers to connect and practice their language skills.

United Kingdom

In the United Kingdom, there is also a significant Latvian-speaking population. Many Latvians have migrated to the UK in search of better opportunities and have established communities in cities like London, Birmingham, and Manchester. These communities often organize cultural events, festivals, and social gatherings where Latvian is spoken and celebrated. Furthermore, there are language schools and organizations that offer Latvian language courses and resources to support the Latvian-speaking community in the UK.


Australia is another country with a notable Latvian-speaking population. Latvian immigrants have settled in various Australian cities, including Melbourne, Sydney, and Adelaide. These communities have their own Latvian cultural centers and associations that promote Latvian language and culture. Latvian language classes and events are organized to assist individuals in maintaining their language skills and connecting with fellow Latvian speakers. The Latvian-speaking community in Australia actively participates in cultural exchanges and fosters a sense of unity among Latvians living in the country.

Overall, these countries have significant Latvian-speaking populations, and their communities play a vital role in preserving, promoting, and fostering the Latvian language and culture.

Countries with Latvian as a recognized minority language


Estonia is one of the countries that recognize Latvian as a minority language. Located in Northern Europe, Estonia shares its borders with Latvia to the south. The historical and cultural ties between the two countries have contributed to the recognition of Latvian as a minority language in Estonia. This recognition allows Latvian-speaking individuals in Estonia to preserve their language and cultural identity.


Latvian is also recognized as a minority language in Russia. Russia, as the largest country in the world, encompasses a diverse range of languages and cultures. In regions where Latvian-speaking communities reside, such as Latgale, Latvian is given recognition as a minority language. This recognition helps in promoting linguistic diversity and providing opportunities for Latvian speakers to engage with their language and heritage.


Sweden is another country that recognizes Latvian as a minority language. Situated in Northern Europe, Sweden has a significant Latvian-speaking population, primarily composed of immigrants and their descendants. By acknowledging Latvian as a minority language, Sweden demonstrates its commitment to multiculturalism and inclusivity. This recognition allows Latvian speakers in Sweden to maintain their language, connect with their roots, and promote cultural exchange.

By recognizing Latvian as a minority language, Estonia, Russia, and Sweden exemplify the importance of linguistic diversity and the preservation of cultural heritage. These countries acknowledge the significance of Latvian-speaking communities and provide opportunities for individuals to embrace and celebrate their language and identity.

Latvian language holds official status in three countries: Latvia, where it is the sole official language, as well as in Estonia and Lithuania, where it is recognized as a regional language. Despite the relatively small number of countries where Latvian is recognized as an official language, it plays a significant role in preserving cultural heritage and fostering national identity within these nations. The linguistic diversity found in Latvia and its neighboring countries reflects the rich historical and cultural connections shared among them. Through the official use of Latvian, these countries demonstrate their commitment to promoting linguistic diversity and ensuring equal rights for all citizens.

Share This Post: