What countries use Spanish as their primary language?

What countries use Spanish as their primary language?

If you’re curious about the countries where Spanish is spoken as the primary language, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we will provide you with a comprehensive list of countries where Spanish is the official language, and delve into the cultural and historical significance of Spanish-speaking nations. Whether you’re a language enthusiast, a traveler, or simply looking to expand your knowledge, this article will answer all your questions about the countries that embrace Spanish as their mother tongue.

Countries in Latin America


Mexico is one of the countries in Latin America where Spanish is widely spoken as the primary language. Located in North America, Mexico is the most populous Spanish-speaking country in the world. With a rich cultural heritage and diverse indigenous influences, Mexico has a vibrant Spanish language community. From the bustling streets of Mexico City to the picturesque beaches of Cancun, Spanish is the language of everyday communication, commerce, and cultural expression.


Situated in the northwestern region of South America, Colombia is another country in Latin America where Spanish is the primary language. Colombian Spanish is known for its clear pronunciation and distinct vocabulary. From the vibrant city of Bogota to the lush coffee plantations of the Zona Cafetera, Spanish is the language that unites Colombians and allows them to express their unique identity. The country’s rich history, diverse landscapes, and warm-hearted people make Colombia an enchanting place for Spanish language enthusiasts.


Located in the southern part of South America, Argentina is yet another country where Spanish is the predominant language. Argentine Spanish is characterized by its distinctive accent and vocabulary, heavily influenced by Italian immigration. Known for its passionate tango, delicious cuisine, and breathtaking landscapes, Argentina offers a diverse cultural experience for Spanish speakers. Whether exploring the vibrant streets of Buenos Aires or immersing oneself in the beauty of Patagonia, Spanish is the key to fully appreciate all that Argentina has to offer.

In conclusion, Mexico, Colombia, and Argentina are three countries in Latin America where Spanish is widely used as the primary language. Each country has its own unique dialect and cultural nuances, but all share a common love and appreciation for the Spanish language.

Countries in Europe


Spain is a country located in southwestern Europe. It is renowned for being the birthplace of the Spanish language and is considered one of the major Spanish-speaking countries in the world. Spanish is the official and primary language spoken by the majority of the population in Spain.

With a rich and diverse culture, Spain offers visitors a unique experience. From its vibrant cities like Madrid and Barcelona to its picturesque coastal towns, there is something for everyone. The country is also home to famous landmarks such as the Sagrada Familia, the Alhambra, and the Prado Museum.

Spanish cuisine is another aspect that makes Spain stand out. From paella to tapas, food lovers can indulge in a wide variety of delicious dishes. Flamenco, a traditional Spanish dance form, is also a significant part of the country’s cultural heritage.

Visiting Spain provides an opportunity to immerse oneself in the Spanish language and experience the vibrant culture firsthand. Whether you are exploring historic sites, enjoying delicious cuisine, or interacting with friendly locals, Spain offers a truly enriching experience for anyone interested in the Spanish language and culture.

Other countries

Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea is a small country located in Central Africa. Surprisingly, Spanish is one of its official languages, alongside French and Portuguese. The historical influence of Spanish colonization is evident, as it was a Spanish colony until 1968 when it gained independence. While Spanish is not the primary language spoken by the majority of the population, it holds an important position in governmental and educational institutions. Spanish-speaking communities can mainly be found in the capital city of Malabo and the island of Bioko.


The Philippines, an archipelago in Southeast Asia, is known for its diverse linguistic landscape. Although the official language is Filipino (Tagalog), Spanish has played a significant role in the country’s history and culture. Spanish was the official language during the Spanish colonial period, which lasted for over three centuries. Today, Spanish has influenced the Filipino language, with many Spanish loanwords integrated into daily conversation. While the usage of Spanish has significantly declined over the years, there are still pockets of Spanish-speaking communities, particularly among the older generations.

In conclusion, Spanish is the primary language in several countries around the world. It is widely spoken in Spain, where it originated, as well as in many Latin American countries such as Mexico, Argentina, and Colombia. Additionally, Spanish is also an official language in Equatorial Guinea and is spoken by significant populations in the United States and other countries with a large Hispanic community. With its rich history and widespread usage, Spanish continues to be a dominant language in various regions, making it an essential language to learn and understand in today’s globalized world.

Share This Post: