Flag of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
  • Acronym: OIC
  • Type: Intergovernmental Organization
  • Membership: 57 member states, multiple observer states
  • Establishment: Established on 25 September 1969
  • Official Language(s): Arabic, English, French
  • Headquarters: Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

The Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) is one of the largest intergovernmental organizations in the world, second only to the United Nations in terms of membership. The OIC was established upon a decision of the historical summit which took place in Rabat, Kingdom of Morocco, on the 25th of September 1969 as a result of criminal arson of Al-Aqsa Mosque in occupied Jerusalem.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation History

The OIC was founded in response to an arson attack on the Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem in 1969. Islamic countries were motivated by the need to respond collectively to this aggression on a critical Islamic heritage. This tragic event became a turning point that led to increasing cooperation among Islamic states and eventually to the establishment of the OIC. Since then, the organization has evolved, adapting to the changing dynamics of the international community and expanding its scope to include economic cooperation, scientific and technological advancements, and educational and cultural exchange, in addition to political solidarity.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Structure

The OIC has a unique structure that includes:

  • The Islamic Summit, composed of Kings and Heads of State and Government of Member States, is the supreme authority of the organization.
  • The Council of Foreign Ministers, which meets once a year, to consider a policy for the general direction of the affairs of the OIC.
  • The General Secretariat, headed by the Secretary-General, is the executive organ of the organization.
  • Subsidiary organs, specialized and affiliated institutions that address specific tasks and areas of cooperation within the framework of the OIC.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Membership

Membership in the OIC is open to all Muslim-majority countries. It has 57 members from four continents. The OIC provides a collective voice for the Muslim world and aims to safeguard and protect the interests of the Muslim world in the spirit of promoting international peace and harmony among various peoples of the world.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Objectives

Promote Islamic Solidarity

The OIC aims to foster unity and cooperation among member states. It addresses social, economic, cultural, and political issues with the goal of promoting peace and prosperity in the Muslim world and beyond.

Safeguard and Protect Muslim Interests

The OIC works to protect the interests of the Muslim world in the spirit of promoting international peace and harmony. It is committed to upholding international laws and norms to ensure peace and harmony in the region.

Support Science and Technology

The organization gives special attention to the promotion of science and technology in member states, recognizing the importance of scientific and technological advancements for socio-economic development.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Funding

The OIC is funded through contributions from its member states. The financial contributions are determined according to the economic capability of each country, ensuring that all member states can participate in the organization’s activities regardless of their financial capacity.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Projects

Poverty Alleviation

The OIC implements various projects aimed at poverty alleviation in member states. These projects include economic empowerment, job creation, and support for small and medium-sized enterprises.

Education and Literacy

The OIC places great emphasis on promoting education and literacy in the Muslim world. It initiates and supports various educational programs and institutions aimed at increasing literacy rates and educational quality in member states.

Health and Well-being

The organization undertakes numerous initiatives to improve healthcare systems and services in member states. It focuses on addressing communicable diseases, promoting maternal and child health, and improving access to healthcare services.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Members

Member States

Observer States

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Central African Republic
  • Kingdom of Thailand
  • Northern Cyprus (recognized only by Turkey)
  • Russian Federation

In addition to member states, several international organizations and multilateral entities also hold observer status at the OIC.

The Organisation of Islamic Cooperation continues to play a critical role in fostering unity and cooperation among Muslim-majority countries. Its initiatives and projects span a wide range of areas, including socio-economic development, scientific advancement, cultural exchange, and political solidarity. Through its efforts, the OIC seeks to address the challenges faced by the Muslim world and to harness the collective potential of its member states to promote peace, prosperity, and progress across the globe. The organization’s commitment to promoting Islamic solidarity, safeguarding Muslim interests, and fostering international peace and harmony remains central to its mission as it adapts to the evolving dynamics of the global community.

Share This Post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *